The Seven Wonders of the World

So we have our new seven wonders of the world. They say that they selected them with our opinion. We choose them through global poll. It was very successful campaign, I must say, because bringing the entire world together on a single issue is not an ordinary task. I wish someday it may happen to all those world threats like poverty, global warming, saving water, etc.

There were as many as 200 wonders off the world in the poll. Then why only 7; did any body know? We may be aware of the Greek culture, from which we are still deriving many things even today. Well even the seven number was also extracted from their belief that 7 is the number of perfection and plenity.

Herodotus of 425 BC was said to be the first man to list seven wonders of the ancient world. But of them only the Great Pyramid of Giza is existing today.

The seven wonders of the world are

  • Great wall of China of China
  • Taj Mahal of India
  • Petra of Jordan
  • Colosseum of Italy
  • Christ the Redeemer of Brazil
  • Chicken Itza of Mexico
  • Machu Picchu of Peru

Related Readings:
The New Seven Wonders of World
Pyramids – A Wonder of Constructions
Ancient Wonders Are Also Miraculous
NASA Launches First Weather Mission Into Space
Stephen Hawking’s New Time Piece
Sun Takes a Nap